Derwen Community Council

Derwen Community Council Information and Notices.

Derwen Community Council serves the villages of Derwen the majority of Clawddnewydd and surrounding area and meet in the chapel vestry Derwen and the chapel vestry/canolfan Clawddnewydd.

The Council meets on the third Wednesday of January, March, May,
July, September and November. 2024 meetings are as follows:

Wednesday 17th January  in the Canolfan, Clawddnewydd at 7.30 p.m.
Wednesday 20th March in the Chapel Vestry, Derwen at 7.30 p.m.
Wednesday 15th May  in the Chapel Vestry, Derwen at 7.30 p.m.
Wednesday 17th July  in the Chapel Vestry, Derwen at 7.30 p.m.
Wednesday 18th September  in the Chapel Vestry, Derwen at 7.30 p.m.
Wednesday 20th November  in the Canolfan, Clawddnewydd at 7.30 p.m.

Community Councils form the part of Local Government that is closest to the people. They are responsible for the most local of matters. Funding is through council tax and seven Community Councillors are elected for a period of 4 years after which they may stand for re-election. A part time clerk is employed by the council. There are 375 people registered to vote in the Community Council area.

The Council meets at Derwen chapel vestry and Clawddnewydd canolfan as outlined above.  Members of the public are welcome to attend.  However, permission to speak at a meeting must have been previously sought from the chairman prior to the meeting. Guest speakers with prior permission can give a ten minute presentation to the Council. Please contact the Clerk to arrange this. The local County Councillor, Mr Eryl Williams, occasionally attends Council meetings.

What does the Council do?

The Council aims to improve facilities and services for local people, working closely with Denbighshire County Council. Denbighshire County Council consults the Community Council on all planning applications within the Derwen Council area. The Council is also consulted about the County Council Local Development Plan, Highway and Rights of Way orders. The Council annually submits to Denbighshire County Council its suggestions for roads which require improvement i.e. resurfacing or provision of drainage etc.  These suggestions are then considered for inclusion in Denbighshire Highways capital works programme. Any issues that arise during the year with regard to highways or footpaths etc. are reported to the County Council.

The Council gives financial support to various local organisations. Any requests from organisations and charities for financial assistance should be made in writing to the clerk. Other organisations who consult the Council are the Welsh Government, Local Health Board, the Boundary Commission and the North Wales Police.

Representatives of the Council attend liaison meetings with County Council representatives and cluster meetings with other Community Council representatives and County Council members and officers to discuss matters of mutual concern.

Below are your representatives on the Derwen Community Council:

Councillor Llefelys Rees, (Vice Chairman) Derwen: Telephone: 01824 750751.

Councillor John Crowhurst, Derwen: Telephone: 01824 750814.

Councillor Hywel Jones, (Chairman) Clawddnewydd: Mobile: 07946790097.

Councillor Robert Hughes, Clawddnewydd: Telephone: 01824 750360.

Councillor Gaynor Jones, Clawddnewydd: 01824 750743.

Councillor Thomas Griffiths, Derwen: 01824 750249

Councillor Clwyd Jones, Derwen: 07771516888

Clerk to the Council: Gwyn Davies, 11 Maes Caenog, Clocaenog, Ruthin LL15 2AU    01824 750283.